Friday, February 19, 2010

Congratulations to Michael R. and others!

The 2010 Dan David Laureates have been announced:
  • Michael Rabin, Leonard Kleinrock, and Gordon Moore
for Computers and Telecommunications share $1M. In literature it goes to two of my faves:
  • Margaret Atwood, and Amitav Ghosh (go Amitav!)



Anonymous Anonymous said...

I'm proud that another Laureate is the current President of the Italian Republic Giorgio Napolitano, even if it is sad for Italy to always achieve awards for "the Past"... I hope this time is a good auspice!

7:58 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Apologies, I should have drawn attention to the President of course. The citation is really nice: "In the current somewhat chaotic climate of Italian politics, he stands as a beacon of reason, moderation, democratic values and tolerance, admired and respected by members of all parties and persuasions."

-- Metoo

8:33 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Note that Danny Hillis won the 2002 prize for "the Present". Time seems to be running in reverse...

11:27 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home