Sunday, January 09, 2011

AMS Awards

American Mathematical Society (AMS) awarded major prizes at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in New Orleans. Among them:
  • The Bôcher Memorial Prize (with its incredible legacy from 20's) to Assaf Naor "for introducing new invariants of metric spaces and for applying his new understanding of the distortion between various metric structures to theoretical computer science".
  • The AMS Steele Prize for a Seminal Contribution to Research to Ingrid Daubechies "for her paper, "Orthonormal bases of compactly supported wavelets" constructed the very first examples of families of wavelets that have since become extremely popular in practical signal processing."
Awesome. Congratulations!



Anonymous Anonymous said...

Please add to that the MAA 2011 David Robbins Prize for the two papers: “Overhang” by Mike Paterson (Warwick) and Uri Zwick (Tel Aviv) and “Maximum Overhang” by Mike Paterson (Warwick), Yuval Peres (Microsoft), Peter Winkler (Dartmouth), Mikkel Thorup (AT&T) and Uri Zwick (Tel Aviv).

The first of these had already won a 2010 Lester Ford Award of the MAA.

6:03 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thanks, sorry for the oversight. Glad to see that Suresh has fixed the problem.

-- Metoo

3:51 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home