Tuesday, March 30, 2010

ACM Awards

ACM has announced some awards. Congratulations to:
  • Tim Roughgarden, recipient of the Grace Murray Hopper Award for introducing novel techniques that quantify lost efficiency with the uncoordinated behavior of network users who act in their own self-interest. His research has built a bridge between theoretical computer science and the networking research community that has the potential to capture the important role of strategic behavior in the design and analysis of future networks. Roughgarden is an assistant professor at Stanford University, whose book, Selfish Routing and the Price of Anarchy, outlines several approaches to limiting the efficiency loss in large networks resulting from self-interested users. The Hopper Award recognizes the outstanding young computer professional of the year.
  • Mihir Bellare and Phillip Rogaway, recipients of the Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award for their development of practice-oriented provable security, which has resulted in high-quality, cost-effective cryptography, a key component for Internet security in an era of explosive growth in online transactions. Bellare, a professor at the University of California San Diego, and Rogaway, a professor at the University of California Davis, adapted modern cryptographic theory to make it more applicable for reducing the risk of cyber attacks in the real world. The Kanellakis Award honors specific theoretical accomplishments that significantly affect the practice of computing.



Post a Comment

<< Home